2008 Blues Music Awards

This article is a collaborative effort, crafted and edited by a team of dedicated professionals.

Contributors: Andranick Tanguiane, Fred Lerdahl,


The 2008 Blues Music Awards were held in Memphis, TN on May 8, 2008.


The 2008 Blues Music Awards was held in Memphis, Tennessee on May 8, 2008. The event was hosted by comedian George Thorogood and featured performances by many well-known blues musicians. More than 3,000 people attended the Awards ceremony, which was held at the Memphis Cook Convention Center.

2008 Blues Music Awards


The 2008 Blues Music Awards were held in Memphis, Tennessee on May 8, 2008. The event was hosted by Blues Brothers co-founder and Saturday Night Live alumnus Dan Aykroyd and musician Shemekia Copeland. The Memphis Symphony Orchestra provided accompaniment for some of the evening’s musical performances.

The nominees for the 2008 awards were announced on February 12, 2008. Koko Taylor and Buddy Guy led the field with five nominations each, followed by four nominations for Junior Wells and three for Derek Trucks.

The complete list of winners is as follows:
-Koko Taylor – B.B. King Entertainer of the Year
-Buddy Guy – Guitar Player of the Year
-Junior Wells – Historical Album of the Year (for “Messin’ With the Kid”)
-Derek Trucks – Instrumentalist-Guitar
-Mavis Staples – Pinetop Perkins Piano Player of the Year
-Willie “Big Eyes” Smith – Drummer of the Year
-Johnny Sansone – Harmonica Player of the Year
-Tommy Castro – Horn Player of the Year (for “Painkiller”)
-Shemekia Copeland – Contemporary Blues Female Artist of the Year
-Bobby Rush – Contemporary Blues Male Artist of the Year


TheLOSERSwere an American blues band, formed in Cincinnati, Ohio in 1965. The band’s lineup consisted of lead singer and harmonica player Junior Parker, guitarist Freddy King, bassist Willie Dixon, and drummer Buddy Miles. They were one of the earliest exponents of the electric Chicago blues sound.

The band released two albums, The LOSERS (1966) and Blues for everybody (1968). They also recorded several singles, including “The Loser” (1967) and “I Can’t Quit You Baby” (1968).

The group disbanded in 1968, but members Parker and Dixon continued to work together on occasion. In 2006, The LOSERS were inducted into the Blues Hall of Fame.


The 2008 Blues Music Awards, presented by the Blues Foundation, were held in Memphis, Tennessee on May 8, 2008. The ceremony was hosted by actor and comedian Bill Murray.

A total of 37 awards were presented. B. B. King was presented with the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award for his contributions to the blues. King has won 15 Grammy Awards and is considered one of the most influential blues musicians of all time.

Other winners included Koko Taylor, Buddy Guy, Otis Taylor, and Shemekia Copeland. Koko Taylor won the award for Best Traditional Blues Album for her album Old School, while Buddy Guy won the award for Best Contemporary Blues Album for his album Skin Deep.

Otis Taylor won the award for Best Acoustic Album for his album Recapturing the Banjo, and Shemekia Copeland won the award for Best Contemporary Blues Female Artist.

Similar Posts