Angry Girl Music: The Best of the Indie Rock Persuasion

This article is a collaborative effort, crafted and edited by a team of dedicated professionals.

Contributors: Andranick Tanguiane, Fred Lerdahl,


Angry Girl Music is a blog dedicated to the best in independent rock music. From the latest news to band profiles and interviews, we’ve got you covered.


Angry Girl Music: The Best of the Indie Rock Persuasion is a 26-track, 2-CD compilation album released on July 11, 2006 by Fueled by Ramen. It features tracks by indie rock bands that were popular at the time, including The Format, Panic! at the Disco, Motion City Soundtrack, piebald, andainers.

The album was released as a digital download on May 30, 2006, and was made available for purchase on CD and vinyl on July 11, 2006.

The Best of the Indie Rock Persuasion

Angry Girl Music has been a go-to source for the best in indie rock for years, and their annual compilation albums are always something to look forward to. This year’s edition is no different, with a wide variety of artists and styles represented. Let’s take a look at some of the highlights.

The Pixies

The Pixies are an American alternative rock band formed in Boston, Massachusetts in 1986. The group disbanded in 1993 in acrimonious circumstances, but reunited in 2004. Pixies found moderate success upon release of their debut album, Surfer Rosa, released by the British label 4AD through Elektra Records in the United States.

The band’s second album was released to critical acclaim but was commercial failure. After a lengthy recording process that produced little material, the band released Come on Pilgrim (1987), a mini-album featuring eight songs culled from their early demos. The band’s third album, Doolittle (1989), became the breakthrough they had sought and eventually surpassed Surfer Rosa’s sales. Following its release, pornography entrepreneur Steve Mack brought them to London and offered to record and release their fourth album; however, disagreements with Mack led to the Pixies leaving his label before recording could commence.


Pavement was an American indie rock band that formed in Stockton, California, in 1989. The group consisted of Stephen Malkmus (vocals and guitar), Scott Kannberg (guitar and vocals), Mark Ibold (bass), Steve West (drums) and Bob Nastanovich (percussion). Pavement’s first album, Slanted and Enchanted, was released to critical acclaim in 1992. The group’s second album, Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain, was released in 1994 to more mixed reviews but still garnered the band a large fan base. Pavement’s final album, Terror Twilight, was released in 1999 to generally positive reviews. The group disbanded shortly after its release.

Sonic Youth

Sonic Youth is an American rock band from New York City, formed in 1981. The band is composed of Thurston Moore (guitar, vocals), Kim Gordon (bass, vocals), Lee Ranaldo (guitar, vocals), Steve Shelley (drums) and Mark Ibold (bass). Sonic Youth was one of the seminal bands of the 1980s underground music scene in New York and helped pave the way for the alternative rock and grunge movements of the 1990s.

The band’s first album, Confusion Is Sex, was released in 1983 and was followed by a string of highly acclaimed albums including EVOL (1986), Daydream Nation (1988) and Goo (1990). Sonic Youth has been active since their formation in 1981, releasing a total of 17 studio albums and several live albums and compilations. The band has also been nominated for four Grammy Awards.

Dinosaur Jr.

Dinosaur Jr. was one of the earliest and most influential bands of the American independent rock movement of the 1980s. The band was founded in Amherst, Massachusetts in 1984 by singer-guitarist J Mascis, bassist Lou Barlow, and drummer Murph. They were soon joined by guitarist Charlie Cheetham, who played on their debut album Dinosaur (1985).

Dinosaur Jr. was known for their loud, distorted guitar sound, which was often compared to that of The Who. They were also influenced by punk rock and stooges-style garage rock. Their early albums were released on the independent record label Homestead Records. The band’s breakthrough came with their third album, You’re Living All Over Me (1987), which was released on the major label SST Records.

Dinosaur Jr. continued to release albums through the 1990s and 2000s, including Without a Sound (1994), Hand It Over (1997), Beyond (2007), Farm (2009), I Bet on Sky (2012), Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not (2016), and Sweep it into Space (2021). The band has undergone numerous lineup changes over the years, with Mascis being the only constant member. Barlow left the band in 1989 and went on to form the bands Sebadoh and Folk Implosion; he rejoined Dinosaur Jr. in 2005. Cheetham left the band in 1991 and was replaced by Kurt Vile; Vile left in 1992 and was replaced by J Mascis’ brother Mike.

My Bloody Valentine

Formed in Dublin, Ireland, in 1984, My Bloody Valentine quickly gained a reputation as one of the most innovative and influential bands of the shoegaze movement. The group’s signature sound—a combination of ethereal melodies, throbbing bass lines, and walls of distortion—ushered in a new era of guitar-based music in the late 1980s and early 1990s. My Bloody Valentine’s 1991 album Loveless is widely considered to be one of the greatest records of all time, and the band’s subsequent reunion tours have been greeted with critical acclaim.


We hope you enjoyed our list of the best angry girl music of the indie rock persuasion. We know there are many more great songs out there, so please add your favorites in the comments below. And don’t forget to check out our other lists of great music, including the best punk rock songs and the best grunge songs.

Similar Posts