Best Folk Music of 2020

This article is a collaborative effort, crafted and edited by a team of dedicated professionals.

Contributors: Andranick Tanguiane, Fred Lerdahl,


A list of the best folk music of 2020.

The Revivalists

The Revivalists are an American rock band formed in New Orleans, Louisiana, in 2007. The band comprises Ed Williams (lead guitar), David Shaw (lead vocals), Zack Feinberg (rhythm guitar), George Gekas (bass guitar), Rob Ingraham (saxophone), Michael Girardot (), Andrew Campanelli (), and PJ Morton ().

The Revivalists have released five studio albums: Take Good Care (2018), Men Amongst Mountains (2015), City of Sound (2013), their eponymous debut album The Revivalists (2010), and All Souls: A Family Record (2020). “All My Friends”, “Wish I Knew You”, and “You and I” have all peaked at number one on the Billboard Adult Alternative Songs chart. “All My Friends” also peaked at number 18 on the Billboard Hot 100.

The Lumineers

The Lumineers are an American folk rock band based in Denver, Colorado. The founding members are Wesley Schultz (lead vocals, guitar) and Jeremiah Fraites (drums, percussion). The Lumineers formed in 2005, and the duo first gained interest from a demo recording of “Hey Ma”. In April 2012, they released their self-titled debut album on Dualtone Records. The album peaked at number 2 on the Billboard 200 chart and is currently certified platinum in the United States. The lead single “Ho Hey” reached number 3 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. Their second album Cleopatra was released on April 8, 2016, and also peaked at number 2 on the Billboard 200 chart.

The Head and the Heart

The Head and the Heart is an American indie folk band. Formed in 2009 in Seattle, Washington, it consists of Josiah Johnson (vocals, guitar, percussion), Charity Rose Thielen (vocals, guitar, violin), Jonathan Russell (vocals, guitar, harmonica), Chris Zasche (bass), Kenny Hensley (piano), and Tyler Williams (drums). The band released its self-titled debut album in 2011. The album’s popularity led to a record deal with Sub Pop Records. The Head and the Heart’s second album, Let’s Be Still, was released in 2013. The group has toured internationally and played at festivals such as Bonnaroo Music Festival and Lollapalooza.

The band’s musical style has been described as indie folk or Americana. Critics have likened the band’s sound to that of Arcade Fire, Fleet Foxes, Neutral Milk Hotel, and Mumford & Sons.

Of Monsters and Men

Of Monsters and Men is a five-piece indie folk-pop band from Reykjavik, Iceland. The members are Nanna Bryndís Hilmarsdóttir (lead vocals, guitar), Ragnar þórhallsson (lead vocals, guitar), Brynjar Leifsson (bass guitar), Arnar Rónnaskinners (drums) and Ragnhildur Stefánsdóttir (keyboard, accordion).

The band rose to prominence in 2011 with the release of their debut album My Head Is an Animal, which reached the top ten in several countries including the US and UK. The album included the hit singles “Little Talks” and “Dirty Paws”, which both reached the top ten in several countries.

The band’s follow-up album, Beneath The Skin, was released in 2015 and also topped the charts in several countries. It includes the singles “Crystals” and “Empire”.

Of Monsters and Men have won several awards, including two MTV Europe Music Awards, one World Music Award and one iHeartRadio Music Award.

Mumford & Sons

Mumford & Sons are a Mumford & Sons are a British rock band formed in 2007. The band consists of Marcus Mumford, Ben Lovett, Winston Marshall and Ted Dwane. Mumford & Sons have released three studio albums: Sigh No More (2009), Babel (2012) and Wilder Mind (2015). The band has also released two live albums: Live at Shepherds Bush Empire (2011) and The Road to Red Rocks (2016).

Similar Posts