The Top 5 Electronic Music Bands You Need to Know

In this blog post, we will be discussing the top 5 electronic music bands that you need to know. These bands are at the forefront of the electronic music scene and are sure to get your feet moving.

Daft Punk

Formed in 1993 by Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo, Daft Punk is a French electronic music duo that has taken the world by storm. Over the years, they have released some of the most iconic tracks in the history of electronic music, such as “One More Time”, “Get Lucky”, and “Harder Better Faster Stronger”. In 2013, they made headlines when they collaborated with pop legend Beyonce on the track “Drunk in Love”. In addition to their musical achievements, Daft Punk is also known for their unique visual style, which often involves them wearing futuristic helmets and costumes.


Justice is a French electronic music duo composed of Gaspard Augé and Xavier de Rosnay. The duo is known for their unique visual style and their incorporation of a wide range of genres into their music, including rock, pop,EDM, and hip-hop. Justice’s debut album † was released in 2007 to critical acclaim and commercial success, reaching number one in several countries and selling over three million copies worldwide. The follow-up, Audio, Video, Disco., was released in 2011 to similar success. Justice has toured extensively throughout Europe, North America, Asia, and Australia.

LCD Soundsystem

LCD Soundsystem is an American rock band from Brooklyn, New York, formed in 2002 by James Murphy, Pat Mahoney, and Nancy Whang. The band is credited with helping to revive rock music in the early 2000s and rose to prominence with their debut album, LCD Soundsystem (2005), which was a critical and commercial success. It was nominated for the Grammy Award for Best Electronic/Dance Album at the 49th annual ceremony. The group’s live performances have been praised by Pitchfork and other music critics.

The band began by playing house parties in New York City; their first show was at a friends house on Christmas Eve, 2002. From there they began to play clubs around the city like The Mercury Lounge and The Annex, eventually expanding their touring to include stops in London and Paris. The release of their self-titled debut album LCD Soundsystem in 2005 brought them to international attention; the album was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Electronic/Dance Album, and its single “Daft Punk Is Playing at My House” was nominated for Best Dance Recording.

The follow-up album Sound of Silver (2007) was even more successful, earning them another Grammy nomination for Best Electronic/Dance Album and producing the singles “All My Friends” and “North American Scum”. This Is Happening (2010) was their third studio album; it peaked at #2 on the UK albums chart and produced the singles “Drunk Girls” and “Pow Pow”. The album’s lead single “Call the Police” became their highest-charting single in the US, peaking at #48 on the Billboard Hot 100. In 2015, they released their fourth studio album American Dream to critical acclaim; it debuted at #1 on both the UK and US albums charts.

LCD Soundsystem’s style has been described as a mix of house music, punk rock, disco, electronica, dance-rock

The Knife

The Knife is a Swedish electronic music duo from Gothenburg. The group consists of siblings Karin Dreijer Andersson and Olof Dreijer, who together also run the record company Rabid Records. The Knife rose to prominence in the early 2000s with their experimental pop sound, and they have released five albums: Deep Cuts (2002), Silent Shout (2006), Tomorrow, In a Year (2010), Shaking the Habitual (2013), and Fever Ray (2009), the latter of which is a solo album by Karin Dreijer Andersson.

The group’s first EP, “Black Session,” was recorded for French radio station Le Mouv in 2002. The opening track, “Ready to Lose,” became an instant smash hit in Sweden, and the EP’s success led to the recording of The Knife’s first full-length album, Deep Cuts. Released in 2002, Deep Cuts was met with critical acclaim both in Sweden and abroad, cementing The Knife’s reputation as one of the most innovative and exciting new bands around.

The group’s second album, Silent Shout, was released in 2006 to even greater acclaim than its predecessor. Featuring a more aggressive sound than Deep Cuts, Silent Shout showcased The Knife’s maturity as songwriters and producers, and cemented their place as one of the most important electronic music bands of the 2000s.

The Knife’s third album, Tomorrow, In a Year, was released in 2010. A concept album based on Charles Darwin’s theory of evolution, Tomorrow, In a Year was an ambitious and experimental work that saw The Knife pushing their sound in new directions once again.

The Knife’s fourth album, Shaking the Habitual, was released in 2013. Another ambitious work, Shaking the Habitual saw The Knife broadening their sonic palette even further, incorporating elements of industrial music and experimental noise into their already eclectic sound.

The Knife has won numerous awards for their work over the years, including three Swedish Grammy Awards (for Best Dance/Electronica Album), an Echo Award (for Best International Dance Artist), and a D&AD Award (for Best Use of Music).

Hot Chip

Hot Chip is an English electronic music band that formed in London in 2000. The group consists of Alexis Taylor (vocals, keyboards), Joe Goddard (vocals, synths, guitars), Owen Clarke (synthesizers, samplers), Al Doyle (guitar, keyboards, percussion) and Felix Martin (drums).

The band’s sound has been described as ‘a thoughtful blend of pop melody and club grit’ by Allmusic. Their first album Coming on Strong was released in 2004 to critical acclaim and was nominated for the Mercury Prize. They have released five studio albums to date, the most recent being Why Make Sense? in 2015.

Similar Posts