The Gospel Music Awards 2017

This article is a collaborative effort, crafted and edited by a team of dedicated professionals.

Contributors: Andranick Tanguiane, Fred Lerdahl,


The Gospel Music Awards 2017 was a spectacular event. Here are some of the highlights.


The Gospel Music Association (GMA) presents the 48th annual Gospel Music Awards on October 17, 2017 at the Allen Arena in Nashville.
Created in 1969, the GMA Dove Awards recognize outstanding achievement and excellence in Christian and Gospel music.
The awards show is one of the longest-running television programs in GMA’s history. Winners are determined by professional members of the gospel music community who vote online for their favorite artists in each category.

The nominees

This is a list of the nominees for the Gospel Music Association Dove Awards of 2017, which were presented on October 17, 2017 at Lipscomb University’s Allen Arena in Nashville, Tennessee. The show was hosted by Tye Tribbett and Sophia Body.

-Artist of the Year
-Travis Greene
-Mary Mary
-Kirk Franklin
-Tamela Mann
-Chris Tomlin

New Artist of the Year
Jekalyn Carr
Aaron Cole
William McDowell

Producer of the Year
Warren Barfield & Joshua Silverberg – Releasing Sound: Revival (Integrity Music)

Rap/Hip Hop Recorded Song of the Year “I’m Good” -Pro tpb featuring Bizzle (GOM/Central South)

The winners

The Gospel Music Awards 2017 were held on October 17, 2017, at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, California. The awards show was hosted by Yolanda Adams and Kirk Franklin.

This year’s show featured performances by CeCe Winans, Marvin Sapp, Tye Tribbett, Donnie McClurkin, Ricky Dillard & New G, James Fortune & FIYA, Travis Greene, and many more.

The complete list of winners is below:

-Artist of the Year: Kirk Franklin
-Male Vocalist of the Year:Steven Curtis Chapman
-Female Vocalist of the Year: Tasha Cobbs Leonard
-Group/Duo of the Year: for KING & COUNTRY
-New Artist of the Year: Tori Kelly
-Producer of the Year: Aaron W. Lindsey
-Song of the Year: “Oh How I Need You” (written by Kalley Heiligenthal)
-Album of the Year: Losing My Religion (Kirk Franklin)
-Rap/Hip Hop Song of the Year: ” partyin’ (feat. Mike Shorey)” (Written by James Anderson, Maurice Jordan, Matt Owens & Mike Shorey)
-Rap/Hip Hop Album of the Year: Can’t Stay Gold ( social club Misfits)

The performances

The Gospel Music Awards 2017 was held on October 8, 2017 and featured several amazing performances. Here is a list of the performances that took place:

-Alessia Cara performed her hit song “Scars to Your Beautiful”
-Amy Grant performed “Angels”
-CeCe Winans sang “Never Have to Be Alone”
-Charles Jenkins & Fellowship Chicago featuring Le’Andria Johnson sang “Living”
-Elevation Worship performed “Do It Again”
-Franklin McKay Jr. & The Voices of Greater Works Mass Choir performed “You Deserve It”
-Isaiah Thomas & The New York Restoration Choir performed “All Things Well”
-Koryn Hawthorne sang “Won’t He Do It”
-Melvin Crispell III & The Anointed Voices of Philadelphia Mass Choir performed “Great Jehovah”
-NAACP Award recipient Yolanda Adams sang “Still I Rise”

The after-party

The after-party for the Gospel Music Awards 2017 was held at the SLS Hotel in Beverly Hills, California on Sunday, February 26. The party was hosted by Tyler Perry and was attended by celebrities such as Sharde’ Thomas, Erica Campbell, Tasha Cobbs, Kirk Franklin, and more.

Similar Posts